Apparently after a year of lockdown and hunkering down, the clams had a chance to recover too.  The State Department of Fish and Wildlife has announced an amazing 62 tentative dates for razor clam digs for 2021.  The limit on most beaches will increase to 20 per person instead of the usual 15.  And the opportunity begins shortly, on September 17th.

Go to WDFW Razor Clams for all the details.  And do not forget to get your license! Licenses. There’s nothing worse than having the enforcement officer approach you and your bounty to give you a ticket.  You can purchase a three day or annual license. Licenses are required for everyone over 15.

So, grab your RVs, tents or a local motel room and go dig.  Many coastal motels and hotels offer cleaning facilities.  Or you can cheat, and after the digging fun, there are often pros willing to do that work for you, while you clean up and relax.  Look for the lowest tides for best success.

Sometimes, this includes headlamps and lanterns, as those super low tides can occur in the evening hours after dark.  The kids and grandkids have a blast after dark on the beach.  Just be sure to follow all safety protocols, especially after dark, and never turn you back on the water as sneaker waves are very sneaky. They can sweep a person or beloved pet out to sea in a second, and the water is cold.

Though this season is expected to be extremely robust, the WDFW is constantly monitoring toxin levels, so PLEASE check Toxin Levels before you go.

A.M. TIDES ONLY:

Sept. 17, Friday, 4:30 A.M.; -0.4 feet; Long Beach, Twin Harbors, Mocrocks

Sept. 18, Saturday, 5:22 A.M.; -0.5 feet; Long Beach, Twin Harbors, Copalis

Sept. 19, Sunday, 6:06 A.M.; -0.6 feet; Long Beach, Twin Harbors, Mocrocks

Sept. 20, Monday, 6:45 A.M.; -0.5 feet; Long Beach, Twin Harbors, Copalis

Sept. 21, Tuesday, 7:21 A.M.; -0.2 feet; Long Beach, Twin Harbors, Mocrocks

Sept. 22, Wednesday, 7:54 A.M.; +0.3 feet; Long Beach, Twin Harbors, Copalis

P.M. TIDES ONLY:

Sept. 23, Thursday, 8:58 P.M.; +0.3 feet; Long Beach, Twin Harbors, Mocrocks

Sept. 24, Friday, 9:36 P.M.; +0.4 feet; Long Beach, Twin Harbors, Copalis

Sept. 25, Saturday, 10:15 P.M.; 0.5 feet; Long Beach, Twin Harbors, Mocrocks

A.M. TIDES ONLY:

Oct. 3, Sunday, 4:52 A.M.; 0.2 feet; Long Beach, Twin Harbors, Copalis

Oct. 4, Monday, 5:33 A.M.; 0.0 feet; Long Beach, Twin Harbors, Mocrocks

Oct. 5, Tuesday, 6:12 A.M.; -0.1 feet; Long Beach, Twin Harbors, Copalis

P.M. TIDES ONLY:

Oct. 6, Wednesday, 7:20 P.M.; -0.3 feet; Long Beach, Twin Harbors, Mocrocks

Oct. 7, Thursday, 8:04 P.M.; -0.8 feet; Long Beach, Twin Harbors, Copalis

Oct. 8, Friday, 8:50 P.M.; -1.1 feet; Long Beach, Twin Harbors, Mocrocks

Oct. 9, Saturday, 9:38 P.M.; -1.1 feet; Long Beach, Twin Harbors, Copalis

Oct. 10, Sunday, 10:32 P.M.; -0.8 feet; Long Beach, Twin Harbors, Mocrocks

Oct. 11, Monday,11:32 P.M.; -0.4 feet; Long Beach, Twin Harbors, Copalis

Oct. 19, Tuesday, 6:47 P.M.; 0.3 feet; Long Beach, Twin Harbors, Copalis

Oct. 20, Wednesday, 7:23 P.M.; 0.0 feet; Long Beach, Twin Harbors, Mocrocks

Oct. 21, Thursday, 7:58 P.M.; -0.1 feet; Long Beach, Twin Harbors, Copalis

Oct. 22, Friday, 8:32 P.M.; -0.1 feet; Long Beach, Twin Harbors, Mocrocks

Oct. 23, Saturday, 9:07 P.M.; 0.0 feet; Long Beach, Twin Harbors, Copalis

Oct. 24, Sunday, 9:43 P.M.; +0.2 feet; Long Beach, Twin Harbors, Mocrocks

Oct. 25, Monday, 10:25 P.M.; +0.5 feet; Long Beach, Twin Harbors, Copalis

Nov. 3, Wednesday, 6:16 P.M.; -0.3 feet; Long Beach, Twin Harbors, Mocrocks

Nov. 4, Thursday, 7:01 P.M.; -1.1 feet; Long Beach, Twin Harbors, Copalis

Nov. 5, Friday, 7:46 P.M.; -1.6 feet; Long Beach, Twin Harbors, Mocrocks

Nov. 6, Saturday, 8:33 P.M.; -1.8 feet; Long Beach, Twin Harbors, Copalis

Nov. 7, Sunday, 8:23 P.M.; -1.6 feet; Long Beach, Twin Harbors, Mocrocks

Nov. 8, Monday, 9:16 P.M.; -1.2 feet; Long Beach, Twin Harbors, Copalis

Nov. 9, Tuesday, 10:13 P.M.; -0.6 feet; Long Beach, Twin Harbors, Mocrocks

Nov. 10, Wednesday, 11:16 P.M.; 0.0 feet; Long Beach, Twin Harbors, Copalis

Nov. 16, Tuesday, 4:50 P.M.; 0.5 feet; Long Beach, Twin Harbors, Copalis

Nov. 17, Wednesday, 5:28 P.M.; 0.1 feet; Long Beach, Twin Harbors, Mocrocks

Nov. 18, Thursday, 6:03 P.M.; -0.2 feet; Long Beach, Twin Harbors, Copalis

Nov. 19, Friday, 6:37 P.M.; -0.3 feet; Long Beach, Twin Harbors, Mocrocks

Nov. 20, Saturday, 7:10 P.M.; -0.3 feet; Long Beach, Twin Harbors, Copalis

Nov. 21, Sunday, 7:44 P.M.; -0.2 feet; Long Beach, Twin Harbors, Mocrocks

Nov. 22, Monday, 8:21 P.M.; 0.0 feet; Long Beach, Twin Harbors, Copalis

Nov. 23, Tuesday, 9:00 PM +0.2 feet; Long Beach, Twin Harbors, Mocrocks

Nov. 24, Wednesday, 9:43 P.M.; +0.5 feet; Long Beach, Twin Harbors, Copalis

Dec. 1, Wednesday, 4:09 P.M.; +0.1 feet; Long Beach, Twin Harbors, Copalis

Dec. 2, Thursday, 4:58 P.M.; -0.8 feet; Long Beach, Twin Harbors, Mocrocks

Dec. 3, Friday, 5:45 P.M.; -1.5 feet; Long Beach, Twin Harbors, Copalis

Dec. 4, Saturday, 6:32 P.M.; -1.9 feet; Long Beach, Twin Harbors, Mocrocks

Dec. 5, Sunday, 7:20 P.M.; -2.0 feet; Long Beach, Twin Harbors, Copalis

Dec. 6, Monday, 8:09 P.M.; -1.7 feet; Long Beach, Twin Harbors, Mocrocks

Dec. 7, Tuesday, 8:59 P.M.; -1.2 feet; Long Beach, Twin Harbors, Copalis

Dec. 8, Wednesday, 9:51 P.M.; -0.6 feet; Long Beach, Twin Harbors, Mocrocks

Dec. 9, Thursday, 10:45 P.M.; +0.1 feet; Long Beach, Twin Harbors, Copalis

Dec. 15, Wednesday, 4:28 P.M.; +0.6 feet; Long Beach, Twin Harbors, Mocrocks

Dec. 16, Thursday, 5:07 P.M.; +0.1 feet; Long Beach, Twin Harbors, Copalis

Dec. 17, Friday, 5:43 P.M.; -0.2 feet; Long Beach, Twin Harbors, Mocrocks

Dec. 18, Saturday, 6:18 P.M.; -0.3 feet; Long Beach, Twin Harbors, Copalis

Dec. 19, Sunday, 6:52 P.M.; -0.4 feet; Long Beach, Twin Harbors, Mocrocks

Dec. 20, Monday, 7:27 P.M.; -0.3 feet; Long Beach, Twin Harbors, Copalis

Dec. 21, Tuesday, 8:02 P.M.; -0.2 feet; Long Beach, Twin Harbors, Mocrocks

Dec. 22, Wednesday, 8:38 P.M.; -0.1 feet; Long Beach, Twin Harbors, Copalis

Dec. 23, Thursday, 9:16 P.M.; +0.2 feet; Long Beach, Twin Harbors, Mocrocks

Dec. 30, Thursday, 3:49 P.M.; -0.1 feet; Long Beach, Twin Harbors, Mocrocks

Dec. 31, Friday, 4:42 P.M.; -0.9 feet; Long Beach, Twin Harbors, Copalis

Marcee Maylin has a degree in Editorial Journalism from the University of Washington and 30+ years media experience. She is currently the Editor of the Everett Post dedicated to providing current, relevant, and entertaining content for the local community.